The Rev. Al Sharpton and a group of political
and human rights activists in New York founded
the National Action Network (NAN) in early 1991.

NAN fights to empower people by providing
extensive voter education, services aiding the
poor, supporting economically small community
businesses, confronting racism and violation of
civil rights and human rights.

NAN is a political, human and civil rights organ-
ization that was conceived with a focus on action
in accordance with the vision of its founder,
Rev. Sharpton. With “NATIONAL” representing
the scope of its activities and “NETWORK” reflect-
ing the methodology of its expansion, NAN
encompasses the vision of Rev. Sharpton by
networking in “ACTION” with individuals, groups
and organizations throughout New York and the


NAN Youth Move - (Youth Chapter)

Young Move is the youth division of National Action Network designed to educate and empower young Millennials with the sensibilities, skills, capacity and competencies to empower the next generation of the movement’s progressive social change agents. Youth Move is organized by chapters across the USA that succeeds to uphold the mission of the organization through the eyes and feet of the youth.


National Action Network, Newton County Chapter was founded in March 2015 by Archie Shepherd.

NAN Newton County Chapter
Chartered Officers 2015

Victor Fields – President

Archie Shepherd – Vice-President

Charmine Mitchell – Secretary

Grady Pearson, Sr. – Treasurer

History of the NAN Newton County Chapter Officers


Victor Fields (March 2015 – October 2015)

Ruby Burchette (November 2015 – June 2016)

Archie Shepherd (July 2016 – February 2018)

Randy Mapp (March 2018 - Present)


Archie Shepherd (March 2015 – July 2016)

Bertina Parker (August 2016 – March 2017)

Randy Mapp (April 2017 – February 2018)

Archie Shepherd (March 2018 - Present)


Charmine Mitchell (July 2016 – July 2017)

Smithie Tuggle-Baccus (August 2017 – Present)


Grady Pearson Sr. (March 2015 – December 2015)

Bobbie Shepherd (January 2016 – February 2017)

Bessie Johnson (March 2017 – Present)

Chartered Members (March 2015)
Barley, Deborah
Barley, Ronald
Benton, Dennis
Brown, Rev. Walter
Burchette, Ruby
Crawford, Rosie
Dodson, Lizzella
Dyer, Shelton
Fields, Victor
Freeman Jr., Johnny
Gantt, Khira
Goodman, Emma
Green, Margaret
Hayes, Pamela
Hyman, Arlene
Johnson, Charles
Lawrence, Martha
Love, Thomas
Major, Antoinette
Martin, Ruthea
Pearson Sr., Grady
Pearson, Carol
Perry, Cathelene
Reid, Emeritus, Pastor Willie James
Rozier, Pastor Cecil
Salmon, Fay A
Shepherd, Archie
Shepherd, Bobbie
Shepherd, Bernice
Shepherd, Terry
Shipman, Jean
Smith, Jackie
Smith, Rev. Willie James
Surratt, Drucilla
Tuggle, Davida
Tuggle-Baccus, Smithie
Woods, Ruby Neil

NAN Youth Move

National Action Network, Newton County Youth Move Chapter was founded in January 2016 by Cathelene Perry.

NAN Youth Move - (Youth Advisor)

Cathelene Perry (January 2016 – January 2017)

Jennifer Banks (February 2017 – Present)

Chartered NAN Youth Move Members (January 2016)
Avery, Georgia

Bussie, Dequaious

Bussie, Dequavious

Day, Alexandee

Day, Bernard

Farley, Keyauncee

Jones, Mikelia

Jones, Minya

Lawrence, Alexandria

Manley III, Clarence

Manley, Caileb

Manley, Chandler

Richardson, Taylor

Roach, Morgan

Roach, Taylor R.

Smith, George

Smith, Nytravious

Wade, Trinity

Willingham, Desha

Willingham, Iyana